Sheabutter & Almond Oil Hand Salve

Natural Handmade Bergamot & Lavender Hand Salve
Bergamot & Lavender Hand Salve

I’ve been inspired to make more skincare products as the deodorants turned out pretty well. Littlebird and I tried it for the first time this weekend.

As I’ve been using L’Occitane sheabutter handcream and footcream and love the texture and how good they feel on my skin, I thought I’d try making my own version using all natural ingredients.

This recipe is for both foot and hand salve.

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons of sweet almond oil

1 tablespoon beeswax

4 tablespoons of unrefined Shea Butter

1/4 tsb of essential oils (choose your favourite)

As I live pretty close to Mitcham, I decided to try Mitcham Peppermint essential oil for the foot salve and Bergamot and Lavender for the hand salve.

(Makes about 120 ml)

The instructions I found simply said melt the beeswax and shea butter, add the sweet almond oil and mix together with the essential oils.

I reused a face cream jar which I had just finished with. I washed it out with hot soapy water and biocarbonate of soda to remove all traces of the cream and smell (not pictured), to use for the footsalve.

First I filled the jar with the hot mixture of shea butter, almond oil and beeswax and then I added the Peppermint essential oil and mixed it in before the mixture cooled down, so that it was blended in well with the other ingredients.

For the hand salve, I used the pretty aluminum pot (Pictured) which comes with screw top lids that I found online.

The 30ml ones are the perfect size for travel and so handy for work. Again, I filled the pot first with the hot mixture and then blended the essential oils into the pot. I used lavender and bergamot oil as they’re a lovely combination and have a summery aroma. The fact that the blend is slightly uneven makes it even lovelier as the smell is either more lavender or bergamot depending on what I scoop out of the pot, it makes every application an unique experience.

One thought on “Sheabutter & Almond Oil Hand Salve

Leave a comment